Oct 13, 2008


सुधन्वा खण्डपरशुर्दारुणो द्रविणप्रदः
दिवः स्पृक्सर्वदृग्व्यासो वाचस्पतिरयोनिजः॥

സുധന്വാ ഖണ്ടപരശുര്ദാരുണോ ദ്രവിണപ്രദഃ
ദിവഃ സ്പ്രൃക്സര്വദൃഗ്വയാസോ വാചസ്പതിരയോനിജഃ

சுதன்வா கண்டபரசுர்தாருணோ திராவிணப்ரத
திவ ஸ்ப்ருக்ஸர்வத்ருக்வியாஸோ வாசஸ்பதிரயோநிஜ

ಸುಧನ್ವಾ ಖಂಟಪರಶುರ್ದಾರುಣೋ ದ್ರವಿಣಪ್ರದಃ
ದಿವಃ ಸ್ಪೃಕ್ಸರ್ವದೃಗ್ವ್ಯಾಸೋ ವಾಚಸ್ಪತಿರಯೂನಿಜಃ

సుధన్వా ఖంటపరశుర్దారుణో ద్రవిణప్రదః
దివః స్పృక్సర్వదృగ్వ్యాసో వాచస్పతిరయోనిజః

sudhanvaa khandaparasurdaaruno dravinnapradhah
divah-sprik sarvadrik vyaaso vaachaspatirayonijah

567. Sudhanvaa - One who has his glorious bow-called “Saarga.” According to some, it represents the sense organs and their activities.
568. Khanda-parasuh - One who has the axe- weapon-called “Parasu.” The Lord used this weapon in His Incarnation as Parasuraama, the son of Jamadagni. It is endowed with terrible prowess in cutting down the unholy enemies of the nobler life and so it is called as the “Khanda-Parasu.” As such it means ‘one who wields the invincible Parasu.’
569. Daarunah – “The one who is merciless towards the unrighteous.” Up to a point the Lord is All-mercy- but when He finds that no other method can save the individual, like a surgeon at the operation theatre, He appears to be relentless-merciless.
570. Dravina-pradah - One who lavishly gives wealth asked for by His devotees. According to Vyasa, Lord Vishnu gives to his true devotees the wealth of the Sastra knowledge-the deeper and clearer understanding of the Science of Reality.
571. Divah-sprik – “The Sky-reaching.” The Lord who revealed His Universal Form to Arjuna in the Bhagavad Geeta.
572. Sarva-drik-vyaasah: - When considered as one word it means: “One who creates many omniscient men of wisdom.” One who encourages the spread of knowledge and thus turns out many men of wisdom and clearer understanding of life and the world. Or taken as two words its interpretation can mean: “One who is Omniscient and Vyasa.” This would mean, “The Lord who has expressed Him- self as Sri Veda Vyasa.” Vyasa is the poet-philosopher who codified, compiled and edited the Vedas and published them in four volumes-Rig Veda, with its 21 branches; Yajur Veda, with its 101 branches: Saama Veda, with its 1000 branches and the Atharvana Veda, with its 9 branches (or Saakhaas). He is the one who gave us the 18 Puranas and the Brahmasootras. Hence he is called: “The Omniscient Vyasa.”
573. Vaachaspatir-ayonijah - One who is a master of all knowledge (Vidyaas) and who is unborn through a mother’s womb.



Inspiration & courtesy:
Contribution of Shivkumar Kalyanaraman, Professor, Department of ECSE, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, New York, U.S.A.

Sanskrit script Courtesy:
Shri. N. Krishnamachari